Contact Us

About Baker & McKenzie's Global Environmental Markets Practice

Baker & McKenzie was the first law firm to recognise the importance of global efforts to address climate change and the importance of such legal developments to our clients. For more than thirteen years our dedicated team of over 60 lawyers have worked on numerous pioneering deals, including writing one of the first carbon contracts, setting up the first carbon fund, the first structured derivate transaction and the first REDD project.

From governments, multinationals enterprises to financial and multilateral institutions we continue to advise on climate change policy and regulation. Recently we have been advising on development of emissions trading schemes, structured carbon finance transactions, voluntary offset projects, avoided deforestation projects, carbon capture and storage, and issues around the post-2012 international framework.

We have assisted on the most number of CDM deals around the world, earning us the "Top Legal Advisor on CDM/JI Projects by Number of Deals" award from Bloomberg New Energy Finance for three years running. Ours is the only firm repeatedly recognised by Environmental Finance's Market Survey as a legal leader in the carbon market. With our exhaustive knowledge and successful track record, Chambers Legal Directory has ranked our practice at the top for the last four years.

About Baker & McKenzie

Founded in 1949, Baker & McKenzie advises many of the world's most dynamic and successful business organizations through more than 3,750 locally qualified lawyers and over 5,700 professional staff in 68 offices in 40 countries. Baker & McKenzie is known for having a deep understanding of the language and culture of business, an uncompromising commitment to excellence, and world-class fluency in its client service (www.bakermckenzie.com).

Key Contacts

Global

Paul Curnow
Partner (Sydney)

+61 2 8922 5173

paul.curnow@bakermckenzie.com

Martijn Wilder
Partner (Sydney)

+61 2 8922 5276

martijn.wilder@bakermckenzie.com

Asia Pacific

Andrew Beatty
Partner (Sydney)

+61 2 8922 5632

andrew.beatty@bakermckenzie.com

Danian Zhang
Partner (Shanghai)

+86 21 6105 8585

danian.zhang@bakermckenzie.com

Samir Desai
Partner (Tokyo)

samir.s.desai@bakermckenzie.com

 

Gavin Raftery
Partner (Tokyo)

gavin.raftery@bakermckenzie.com

 

Tsutomu Hiraishi
Partner (Tokyo)

tsutomu.hiraishi@bakermckenzie.com

Luke Devine
Partner (Jakarta)

+62 21 5154909

luke.devine@bakermckenzie.com

Andre Gan
Partner (Kuala Lumpur)

andre.gan@bakermckenzie.com

Peerapan Tungsuwan
Partner (Bangkok)

+66 2636 2000 ext 4334

peerapan.tungsuwan@bakermckenzie.com

Frederick Burke
Partner (Ho Chi Minh City)

frederick.burke@bakermckenzie.com



 


Europe & Middle East

Graham Stuart
Partner (London)

graham.stuart@bakermckenzie.com

James Burdett
Partner (London)

james.burdett@bakermckenzie.com

Ulrich Ellinghaus
Partner (Frankfurt)

ulrich.ellinghaus@bakermckenzie.com

Latin America

Raul Felix-Saul
Partner (Mexico City)

raul.felix-saul@bakermckenzie.com

Federico Ruanova-Guinea
Partner (Tijuana)

federico.ruanova-guinea@bakermckenzie.com

 


Beatriz Mello

Partner (Sao Paulo)

beatriz.mello@bakermckenzie.com

 

 

 

North America

Rick Saines
Partner (Chicago)

richard.m.saines@bakermckenzie.com

Clyde E. Rankin III
Partner (New York)

clyde.e.rankin@bakermckenzie.com

Jonathan Cocker
Partner (Toronto)

jonathan.cocker@bakermckenzie.com